The River Findhorn, Scotland.

I’m the daughter of an avid angler, so I suppose it’s not surprising that I have a thing for rivers. The Findhorn has to be a favourite, not only because it flows through some of the most awe-inspiring Scottish landscapes, but also because I love the way its character changes along its route. I was lucky enough to explore a short section while we were on holiday in August – and despite having had very little rain for weeks (apparently), it still managed to give me a thrill.

IMAG2667Our first stop was at the somewhat misleadingly named Randolph’s Leap. (the story behind the name is wonderfully expressed here – do read about it).

My heart was in my mouth as we walked around the banks here, but this is popular kayaking water – that’s not a sport for me!

IMAG2641IMAG2669 The path is well trodden, but I’d still caution taking great care – it’s a long way down.

I tried to imagine what it was like to have leaped across the rocks here, but even thinking about it made my knees turn to jelly.

Further along the Findhorn, is Dulsie Bridge.

IMAG2791On the day we went, a couple of very polite young lads were preparing to jump from it – I tell you this because I thought they were joking, but later, as we were walking along, we heard a tremendous splosh – they were serious – mad I’d call it. (We did see them walk back up the road a while later, smiling!)

There’s something entrancing about rushing rivers on a hot summer day.

IMAG2831 IMAG2814 IMAG2800Although there were small pools of tranquility.

IMAG2834We followed the course of the river to Ardclach (I’ll do a separate post soon about the Bell Tower and church there).

My last visit to the river here was 18 years ago – nothing seemed to have altered.

IMAG2890 IMAG2899What can I say. We all have our own relationships with rivers. This one is special to me.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The River Findhorn, Scotland.

  1. Jo Woolf says:

    Lovely! I love those rock formations – really interesting. I love being next to rivers, too – there’s something so calming and reassuring about them. I’ve never visited the Findhorn but it looks beautiful, and I love the old bridge.

Please talk history with me - do leave a comment...

