Spring cleaning…

In which we rip off the dust-sheets, slip the vacuum around and open for the new season…

IMAG1408

Happy new year!

It’s been quite a while since I was last here. Rather like a number of historic houses, I tend to close down for the winter (you might call it hibernation, I wouldn’t argue). But with the daffodils in flower and everyone lurching towards the Easter holiday, it’s time to spruce myself up and get going again.

While I’ve been tucked up at home, I’ve spent a lot of time reading other bloggers on historical themes – what a fascinating crowd you are!  I’m startled and amazed at the amount of information we have now at a click of a keyboard.  It used to be difficult and expensive to indulge your history habit, now we can travel practically anywhere, seeing through the eyes of bloggers historic treasures from all around the world.

I’m enormously grateful for this window into places I might otherwise never experience, but it also fires up my desire to be out and about again, discovering and revisiting the historic heritage of Britain.

For 2014, I’ve given Mists of Time a bit of a makeover. Blogging during 2013, made me realise that although for me the connection of past to place is my main love, this does frequently take me off onto historical tangents not specifically location orientated, which I might like to write about.  So this year may well see a broadening of post topics and I hope the new-look will make this easier to accommodate. I have a few plans for further changes, but as ever these will probably happen at a snail’s pace, so many thanks for sticking with me.

As always, it’s being part of the community of history lovers that makes blogging here so much fun, and there’s nothing better than conversations with you all, so please do leave comments, they’re the best part.

Enhanced by Zemanta
8 thoughts on “Spring cleaning…

  1. Helen Devries says:

    It’s the delight of an interest in history…one thing leads to another…fresh trails open up…a snippet you read sets you off again….
    I’m looking forward to your posts coming on stream again.

    • Anny says:

      Thank you and yes, you’ve got it right on the nail – I think it’s a bit like being given half a dozen jigsaw pieces and being intrigued enough to go out and find all the rest.

  2. bakersfieldlad says:

    A really interesting, well researched and also well illustrated blog. You are quite right, the consorts mostly had a tough time. The ones I really feel sorry for are Matilda of Flanders and the many wives of Enery the eighth! Of all the kings of England not many were as bad as William the Bastard and that Tudor despot Henry 8. Well done!

    • Anny says:

      Thank you. I’ve always had a soft spot for Elizabeth of York – lives through the most incredibly turbulent times of the Wars of the Roses, then ends up married to Henry VII, with possibly the most domineering mother-in-law in history…

Please talk history with me - do leave a comment...

