Worcester Cathedral Cloisters.

IMAG6639

We found ourselves back at Worcester Cathedral at the weekend. Last time, I posted the pictures from the top of the tower, but on this visit, I spent more time in the cloisters.

I readily admit to being biased about Worcester, but the cloisters are particularly tranquil – even when there are dozens of bell-ringers around the place.

Does anyone else see the resemblance to Parsley the Lion from The Herbs in this little chap?

IMAG6646

But above all, it’s the windows that have me transfixed…

IMAG6634 IMAG6637 IMAG6641 IMAG6647 IMAG6648 IMAG6650 IMAG6651 IMAG6652 IMAG6653

If you visit Worcester, the cathedral is free to go in. It has the tomb of King John and Prince Arthur (Henry VIII’s elder brother and first husband of Catherine of Aragon) – plus lots more. But don’t miss the cloisters (and the cafe is in the cloisters too!).

10 thoughts on “Worcester Cathedral Cloisters.

  1. Sue says:

    I am very very bad at visiting my cathedral. I really must take myself on a visit. Actually I am going to a concert there soon (Three Choirs Festival) and I shall enjoy soaking up the cathedral even if I don’t enjoy the music -it’s Mahler, my dad is taking me and he is a Mahler nutcase. Thank you Anny for your lovely pictures.

  2. Jo Woolf says:

    Truly beautiful, Anny! I love the blend of stained and clear glass, and the engraving is really unusual. It must be lovely to see so many beautiful churches!

    • Anny says:

      Jo I wish I’d been able to take better photos, especially the engraved one, it was ethereal, truly lovely. We are very lucky indeed 🙂

  3. blosslyn says:

    Yes I remembered that they were a great surprise, because usually its just plain glass or no glass, they are lovely bright colours and each one is a little portrait in its own right 🙂

  4. Perpetua says:

    Absolutely gorgeous, Anny. It’s a very long time since I was in Worcester Cathedral and never in the cloisters, so I must remedy that one day. I particularly love the engraved glass. Ethereal is the perfect description.

    • Anny says:

      You really don’t see so many engraved and perhaps because they’re more difficult to see from a distance, you end up being drawn into them. Do go again if you can, it’s a very friendly cathedral.

Please talk history with me - do leave a comment...

