Harvington Hall, Worcestershire

I’m currently pulling some of my blogging threads together, so I hope you’ll bear with me if for a while I post at Dreaming In Stitches and reblog history related posts here. This post is about my latest visit to Harvington Hall in Worcestershire.

Dreaming In Stitches

A house of secrets…

One very hot afternoon last week, I headed up to Worcestershire to carry out a couple of family errands and to reward myself with a visit to my all-time-favourite historic house – Harvington Hall.

harvington hall

This isn’t the first time I’ve written about it. After a Christmas trip I wrote a post for Mists of Time explaining some of the historic background – which in essence is: Elizabethan moated manor, incorporating older hall section. Famous for having at least seven priest hiding holes, created by NIcholas Owen, none of which ever gave up their secrets during the time they were being used.

Oddly enough, in all the many years I’ve been going to Harvington, I don’t remember going before on a sunny day. I wondered how it would affect the atmosphere, because although I’ve always loved it, you couldn’t really call it a particularly warm house. The…

View original post 498 more words

Please talk history with me - do leave a comment...

